Update your fairy tale, baby!

There is a scene in the movie ‘Friends with benefits’ where Patricia Clarkson, who plays mum to Mila Kunis, gives her a grand advice – to update her fairy tale. “Your prince charming(PC) isn’t coming to rescue you in a horse and carriage, that’s not who you are. You’re looking for a man to be your partner.” Very inspiring and forthcoming. Makes me wanna do a ‘I can take on the whole world and beat it’ kind of punch in the air. Then I think, oh wait a minute… Occasionally, I can still ask my PC a few things when I’m in doubt right? I mean I do want to know what he thinks before I take an important decision. And sometimes, erm…I want to leave the decision making to him entirely. Yes, I could be quite guilty of that 🙂

But I’ve been happily married 4 years now. So what was the update then, in my fairy tale, I ask myself. The answer comes to me very simply. I was looking for a pal, and that is what my PC is. If I’ve got to be rescued, he will rescue me, cause best friends bail each other out all the time. “I’ve got your back”, is basically what my guy says in my fairy tale.

The update therefore, might also be the fact that we all have our own fairy tales, or at least our own versions of it. The update is most definitely that every girl is entitled to have her own fairy tale. There is no point in anyone else forcing their versions on her. The PC fairy tale is likely to vary too, numerous times in some cases. Never in some. Again, please live with it. Like they say, girls have cleaner minds than men cause they change them so often!

Oh by the way, just occasionally, I might also like PC to open the door and pull the chair for me (are you reading Mr. A? :P). Cause well, I like my man to be chivalrous. And surely being chivalrous, no matter how old fashioned, is way different from treating a woman like she’s puny. I am just looking for some good manners, really. If my man is charming and looks like a prince, that’s just bonus. The horse, that I am pretty sure I don’t need. I have a weak spine, anyway 😛

Leave a Reply

