What I liked about Tamasha – very late, I know :P

I probably wouldn’t have watched this one in the movie hall had the big brother not been in town. But he happened to be, and we were all set for the movie after a long day of shopping. So here goes –

The name – I’d mostly heard this word being used with a negative connotation, but it was a pleasant surprise to see it used as the title of the movie. In the context of the movie, it was bold and lively, and I am all for sheer abandon; it is something few Chotu ranbir in tamashaof us are able to achieve.

Chotu Ranbir – this little guy Yash Sehgal stole my heart with his smile and curled lips.

Music… ermmm… only a select few songs – Heer to badi sad hai and Wat Wat Wat. Loved ’em both. But I actually thought that the movie had more songs than it really needed.

Deepika’s Chinese act – In the scene just prior to the climax, I loved the Chinese torture dialogue from Deepika. I think she delivered it brilliantly.

Kyun? – I didn’t find the ‘main tumhe mona kahun ya darling’ thing funny, and thought that overall the movie had average dialogues (I know that people have appreciated the dialogues a lot but this is what  I think). But the rat race story that Ranbir tells his family in Shimla was the highlight for me. If only we could ask ourselves a simple ‘why’, would our lives be different?

Climax – As far as I’ve observed, and to the best of my knowledge, few of our storylines in Bollywood revolve around our male actors being grateful or giving credit to our female stars in the movies for their successful careers or even just for being around. I can’t think of any, but I am sure there must be a few. I loved the emotional sashtang dandawat by Ranbir in the final scene and Deepika’s reaction to it. I read a couple of reviews on Tamasha and found a lot of people admiring Ranbir’s performance, but I only liked it in bits and pieces and this bit was definitely the major one. I didn’t quite find the serious office-goer act from him convincing at all.

And finally, what I have always loved about some of Imtiaz Ali’s movies – the fact that despite the ups and downs in a person’s relationships, life moves on. It has to. If Deepika is shaken, depressed, heartbroken, post her break up in the film, she still manages to pursue her career. In fact she is shown attending an overseas conference, even though she might not have her heart and soul into it. Even in Love Aaj Kal, both Saif and Deepika were shown working hard and trying their best to carry on with their lives while they were struggling on their personal front. Jab We Met had Kareena working as a teacher to support herself and find peace, while she recovered from a broken heart. So unless it is an intense movie like Rockstar, we no longer have people dying etc. and life doesn’t come to a standstill if things don’t work out the way we wanted them to. Even in Rockstar, Ranbir is shown continuing with his performance in the end, albeit shattered. My all time most favourite darlingest line from the book I have read over 10 times – There’s no such thing as ruining your life. Life’s a pretty resilient thing, it turns out.

Over and out.

One comment

  1. Nush · December 22, 2015

    ha! The Undomestic Goddess!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

